Skip to main content
website name text
Moped Laws in Philadelphia Tell Us Your Story

Moped Laws in Philadelphia

Thousands of people in the Philadelphia metro rely on devices like motor scooters and mopeds to move around the city. Unfortunately, some riders violate PA moped laws and motorcycle laws on a regular basis. 

If you or a loved one was injured in an accident involving a moped or scooter, contact a personal injury attorney right away.

Pennsylvania Moped Law

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation defines a moped, or motorized pedacycle, as a motor-driven cycle equipped with operable pedals, a motor rated no more than 1.5 brake horsepower, a cylinder capacity not exceeding 50 cubic meters, an automatic transmission, and a maximum design speed of no more than 25 miles per hour. It can also include motor-driven cycles powered by an electric battery or battery pack powered electric motor with a max design speed of no more than 25 mph.

Philadelphia moped law

Moped drivers must register their moped with the Department of Motor Vehicles and affix a license plate. A moped is not required to be inspected for safety and emissions purposes. Moped operators must be at least 16 years of age.

An individual operating a moped on a roadway is subject to the duties that apply to drivers of passenger vehicles and must comply with any traffic laws. Pennsylvania prohibits mopeds on sidewalks in business districts unless specifically permitted and requires mopeds to yield to pedestrians. Motorized bicycle laws in PA aim to protect pedestrians from injuries and accidents. Mopeds are not allowed on Pennsylvania freeways. This prevents cyclists from suffering severe injuries in car accidents.

PA Scooter Laws

Pennsylvania defines a motor-driven vehicle as a motorcycle, including a motor scooter, with a motor that does not exceed five brake horsepower. To operate a motor scooter on a roadway, the scooter must pass inspection. However, most scooters do not meet inspection requirements and cannot be registered. If the scooter’s engine is larger than 50cc, the driver needs a Class M driver’s license. If the scooter’s engine is not larger than 50cc, the operator only needs a standard Class C driver’s license. Drivers and passengers on a motor-driven vehicle must wear protective headgear and eyewear.

Motor-driven vehicles cannot operate on sidewalks and must use roadways like regular motor vehicles.

Can PA Moped Laws Affect My Case?

Pennsylvania enforces stricter moped and scooter laws than many other states. In some cases, you can use a person’s violation of the moped laws in PA to demonstrate their recklessness when they caused your injuries. An experienced personal injury attorney can collect information to show the opposing party violated traffic laws and that doing so caused your injuries.

Contact Rosen Justice Injury Lawyers Today to Discuss PA Moped Laws

Rosen Justice Injury Lawyers is more than just a personal injury law firm—we are champions for the underdog. Our team of attorneys has earned a reputation for taking on challenging cases and fighting relentlessly for our clients. 

An attorney will meet with you to review the details of your case and determine whether Pennsylvania moped laws apply. We are committed to helping injured parties recover compensation for their losses. Contact a member of our team today to schedule a free initial  consultation.

card outline

No One Will Work Harder For You If You`ve Been Injured, You Need To

Call us for free consultation!
call us(215) 999-2244